Under the Sea

Now for my tryst with the waters. I went Whale Watching in the Atlantic Ocean on Voyager III from the Boston coastline and spotted a few humpback, minke and finback whales.  It was an experience to cherish for a lifetime despite the fact that I fell sea sick. To have travelled 30miles in to the ocean for the first time and then to spot whales was exhilirating(would have been better had I not gotten sea sick).

I also decided to visit the New England Aquarium and watch the 3D show at the IMAX  theatre bymyself.  For someone like me who has rarely done things or set out bymyself except for places where I am left with no choice, it gave me this sense of achievement, excitement, confidence and thrill to spend the day at Boston all bymyself. In addition to a variety of colourful fish, plants, Corals, I got to see the Green Anaconda, Giant Pacific Octopus, Penguins(African, North and South Rockhopper, Little Blue), Seals(Northern Fur, Atlantic Harbor), Star Fish, Dragon Head(Sea horse), Sand Tiger Shark, etc.

The 3d show was brilliant. Felt like I was under the ocean myself, diving! The show covered undersea locations like: Southern Australia, New Guinea and others in the Indo-Pacific region. Was an experience, totally worth the time and  effort!

Once the show was done, the weather was perfect for a stroll around the Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall Marketplace in Boston.

A visit to Thimble Islands (Branford, CT) and rowing(myself) on Lake Geore, Upstate New York were my other encounters with the waters during this US vacation(Posts will follow).

One thought on “Under the Sea

Leave a Reply

